Stage One - Nominations

A nationwide call for nominations will be conducted from February to March 2023 using The Educator’s online channels. Any individual or school operating in the Australian K-12 education industry is eligible to submit a nomination, either on their own behalf or for another individual or school. 

Nominations should focus on achievements and results from the previous 12 months. All information contained in the entries that is marked confidential will be treated as such and not be released without permission of the entrant.

All nominations must be submitted via the official Australian Education Awards online portal and must be submitted on or before the final date of entry (17 March 2023). The Australian Education Awards team reserves the right to refuse any nominations submitted after this date. 

Each nomination should not exceed 500 words so we encourage nominations to be brief, concise and factual. If successful as an excellence awardee, you will have the opportunity to complete a detailed submission addressing the category criteria in more detail.

Stage Two - Research and selection of excellence awardees

The Australian Education Awards team will also conduct research and draw on knowledge and information gained through The Educator’s connections to the education industry in order to support and supplement nominations received and to ensure that no individual or school deserving of recognition is missed. Excellence awardees will be determined from both pools of information.

Stage Three - Confirmation of excellence awardees

Once the research has been completed, excellence awardees will be selected in each category (except Australian School of the Year and Australian School Principal of the Year) and notified via e-mail. Excellence awardees will also be announced on The Educator's website. Excellence awardees for Australian School of the Year and Australian School Principal of the Year will comprise the winners of the other school and principal categories and will be announced at the event itself.

Stage Four - Excellence awardee submission

All excellence awardees will be invited to complete an official submission, which will be forwarded to an independent judging panel. The submission will ask for details on how each excellence awardee fulfils the criteria in their award category. All information contained in the submissions will remain entirely confidential unless otherwise marked and will not be shared with any third parties other than the judges.

Stage Five - Judging

The Australian Education Awards team will send completed excellence awardee submissions to an independent panel of judges, comprising education industry leaders and senior representatives. Judges will be well known and well respected within the industry and their judgment will be impartial, balanced, incisive and fair. Any judge with a conflict of interest in a particular category will recuse themselves from judging that category. Judges will review the excellence awardee submissions and allocate a score for each excellence awardee. The excellence awardee with the highest score in each category once the judging process has been completed will be named the winner.

Stage Six - Awards Ceremony

The winners in each category will be announced at the Australian Education Awards official gala event and awards ceremony on Friday, 11 August 2023 at The Fullerton Hotel Sydney. Winners will also be published on The Educator's website.

Stay Up to Date

Be sure to receive all updates about the Australian Education Awards as they happen by signing up to our mailing list.


No spam, and unsubscribe anytime.